Our History

On October 4th 1967, 27 members sat down for the Charter Dinner of the Sea Eagles Toastmasters Club, under sponsorship of Warringah Toastmasters Club (now known as Dee Why RSL Toastmasters Club).

This initial membership quickly swelled to the maximum allowable number of 40 members.
Other Toastmaster Clubs formed by the Sea Eagles Toastmasters Club
1971 – Seafarers Toastmasters Club
1974 – Manly Civic (now known as Balgowlah RSL Toastmasters Club
1976 – Berowra Toastmasters Club (instrumental in the sponsorship and charter of)

District 70 Governors

The top Toastmasters role in NSW and ACT is that of District Governor, and when District 70 was formed in 1971, our President of the day, Tom Stubbs was appointed as the very first District 70 Governor.  Chris Veith became our second member to attain the top position of District 70 Governor  when he was elected in 1978.
Our Area Governors of the years:
  • Arnold Boydell
  • Derek Gosling
  • Eric Augustesen
  • Graham Clark
  • David Cartwright
  • Barry Lew
  • Desiree Mulder